Tags

, ,

image

Yesterday evening around 7.30 local time, could I finally set my feet on Jamaican ground. After 24 hours of travelling was it extremely nice to finally have reached my first destination. It was quite a difference from the so called summer in Norway, with over 30 degrees. Haha, can you imagine how warm it was with long trousers and a fleece jacket :p

After i had checked in at the hostel one of the guys working here invited me to join him and some locals to just relax outside. Normally it is to hot here during the day for people to spend a lot of time outside, so they rather hang out during the evenings when the temperature is more plesant. So, I had a nice first evening where I got an introduction of the Jamaican lifestyle and of course a taste of the famous Appleton Rum:-)

image

Today have I gotten a guided tour through Montego Bay and we started it all with the famous jerk pork for breakfast. It is barbequed pork meet which is chopped up right before serving. It was really delicious and I will for sure have some more of that during my stay:-)

image

Something I have noticed is that the Jamaicans really like their flag and its colors. It is almost like every building and every three has a touch of the Jamaican colors. At least I won’t forget what country I’m visiting :p

Ooh, and reggae music!!! It is played all over. Just gotta love it right? I actually don’t think you can find a better way to get into the Jamaican mood 🙂

At the moment I’m just relaxing a bit at the hostel, escaping the sun. It is HOT!! But later on, when the sun has calmed down a bit, I’m going to a reggae bar with the hostel guide Richard. He is gonna show me a great place where you can listen to reggae and experience the Jamaican vibes. Ya man!!